Reciprocating Territories

Home > Laws

The List of the Reciprocating Territories as per the Provisions of Section 44 A of the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, is as under :

1.United Kingdom
4.Republic of Singapore
5.Federation of Malaya
6.Trinidad and Tobago
7.New Zealand, the Cook Islands (including Niue) and the Trust Territories of Western Samoa
8.Hong Kong
9.Papua and New Guinea
11.United Arab Emirates

Though this is the list of the countries with whom India has relations and agreements for mutually enforcing court orders, however, since the decrees of the foreign courts are generally recognised as decrees of those courts, most of the times, those judgments and orders are fully respected in Indian Courts, and hence also generally adhered to. This is similar to what happens to Indian Judgments in other countries.